top of page
  • Writer's pictureJules Maria

Omaka Hoods: Background

Updated: Jun 2, 2022

Omaka Hoods was created as a passion project after passing the fabrics in the local markets week after week. I made excuses for things I could make around the house, and made myself some curtains, pillows, and lampshades, but being a homemaker isn't exactly my dream, so I needed a product.


Why hoods? Who doesn't love a hood? They make you feel cozy, you can hide your bed head and bad mood if you need to. They're fantastic for long journeys when you need to sleep. Also, would you believe - it gets cold in Chiang Mai. I'm talking see-your-breath, sleep-with-a-down-comforter-cold. It usually doesn't last long, only about a month or so in December or January, but you best have your socks and beanies ready, especially if you ride a motorbike. Naturally, a hoodie that secures around your head and doesn't heat you up too much is the way to go. And the pocket possibilities! They needed pockets.

Getting started

I found a lovely woman to sew for me through some friend connections, and she helped me dream up the prototype I wanted. It was funny mission - she had no idea what I was trying to make, even when I drew it, and when it was finished she put it on backwards and said "like this?" She loved the final product and I started to give her stacks of fabric to try out some real hoods on. I adjusted the pattern and shape multiple times to make it contour to the shoulders and sit on the neck just right. We adjusted the pockets and length and definitely had awkward hoods, but after only a few tries, they were coming out just right.

I made them in batches as I got confident with the right design, and as I found more and more excellent fabrics I wanted to try. The first batch was 9, then 15, then 24. I started selling them at local crafts markets and made little cloth bags with the scraps to throw in as a free gift. I got myself an easy logo and an Etsy shop, and thought up a name. Omaka is a Maori word meaning "where the stream flows", and it's fitting to represent Chiang Mai city. No, this isn't New Zealand and I'm not Maori, but we are all one in this world and I love the cultural blending of ideas and names.


Once Omaka was set up, I was immediately prepping for Jai Thep Festival, Chiang Mai's annual music fest in the mountains. This 3 days festival is a space for fun, costumes, music and play, and I was excited to get some costumed hoods ready for adult frolicking. The festival was wonderful. Although I was placed in the back with some other disgruntled shops for being away from the main foot traffic, we still had a great time and got nice view of the main stage. Hoods sold well, especially after the sun went down and temperatures creeped down, scaring people into thinking they might freeze in their tents at night.


Now they are sold on my Etsy shop: www.etsy.com/shop/omakapottery, which has evolved into a shop for my current pottery collection.

6 views0 comments
bottom of page